Save, back up, and make versions of your projects
Final Cut Pro automatically saves all the changes you make as you work on a project, which means you never have to save changes manually. Also, you can undo all of your changes up to the last time you quit and reopened Final Cut Pro by choosing Edit > Undo (or pressing Command-Z).
You can create multiple versions of a project by duplicating it. For more information, see Duplicate projects and clips.
Changes you make to a clip in a project do not affect the clip’s source file. Thus, if you’ve made a lot of changes to a clip but want to start fresh, you can easily restore the clip to its original state by adding a new copy of the clip (located in an event in the library) to your project.
In addition, Final Cut Pro makes automatic backups of your library at regular intervals. Backups include the database portion of libraries only, not the media files. Backups are saved with the time and date in the filename. For more information, see Restore a library from automatic backups.