Update your projects and events to Final Cut Pro 10.1

Final Cut Pro 10.1 includes some fundamental changes that will accelerate all of your future work. In Final Cut Pro 10.1, events and projects are organized within libraries (for more information, see What are libraries?). To work with projects and events created in earlier versions of Final Cut Pro X, you must update them to version 10.1. You can update existing projects and events when you first open Final Cut Pro 10.1, or you can update them later.

For more information, go to Final Cut Pro X 10.1: Frequently Asked Questions About Libraries.

Important: It’s a good idea to make a backup copy of your files before permanently updating them to the new format. After your projects and events are updated to Final Cut Pro 10.1, they cannot be used with earlier versions of Final Cut Pro. Backing up your current copy of the Final Cut Pro application will allow you to move your files to another Mac and continue working on these projects as needed using version 10.0.9 of Final Cut Pro. For more information about backing up your files and the Final Cut Pro application, go to Final Cut Pro X 10.1: How to back up important files before updating and the Final Cut Pro Support webpage.

When updating projects and events, Final Cut Pro does the following:

  • For each connected volume that contains folders named Final Cut Projects or Final Cut Events, Final Cut Pro creates a new library named with the volume name. Existing projects and events are moved into the new library.

  • Collects all projects on each connected volume in a new event named Updated Projects, and places this event in the newly created library for that volume.

  • Creates keywords for project folders. If you had project folders in the Project Library before updating, the names of the project folders are assigned as keywords to the projects that were in those folders.

  • Copies any existing compound clips or multicam clips on other volumes into the current library. This makes the new library self-contained.

  • Creates a folder called Final Cut External Media on each volume that contains event media linked to an event or project on another volume. After updating, you can use the Consolidate command to copy the linked media to the same volume as the linking event.

  • Asks if you want to move the old project and event files to the Trash after the update is complete. If you choose to move them to the Trash and need to go back to them for any reason, you can restore them to their original location using the File > Put Back command in the Finder. However, after the Trash is emptied, the deleted project and event files cannot be restored.

    Note: Media files are never moved to the Trash or deleted.

Select options for updating projects and events

If you have any existing projects and events in Final Cut Pro, you are presented with options for updating them when you open Final Cut Pro 10.1 for the first time.

In the window that appears, choose one of the following options:

  • Update All: Click Update All to allow Final Cut Pro to organize your existing projects and events into libraries. This is the simplest option. The projects and events on each volume are combined into a single library for that volume. After the update, you may want to organize your libraries and events to suit your particular workflow. For more information, see Organizing libraries overview.

  • Update Later: If you’re not sure what to do, you can defer the update. When you choose this option, a new library is created. You can immediately start using Final Cut Pro 10.1 to create new events and projects. You can always update your existing events and projects later, by choosing File > Update Projects and Events.

  • Locate: If you’ve been using SAN locations on an Xsan volume, you can click Locate to navigate to and then update SAN location folders. You can select a volume, a SAN location, or any folder containing a Final Cut Projects or Final Cut Events folder, and update it. This creates a new library next to the folder where the original projects and events were located. This manual update can be done at any time; for example, a SAN location may not be connected when you first open Final Cut Pro 10.1.

During the update process, Final Cut Pro asks whether you want to move the old versions of your updated projects and events to the Trash. If you do this and then later need the old projects for any reason (for example, if you have multiple users on your system who have not updated), you can restore the files to their original location by opening the Trash, selecting the files, and choosing File > Put Back. However, after the Trash is emptied, the deleted projects and events cannot be restored.

Note: The Put Back command cannot be used for SAN locations.

Manually update projects and events

There are a few scenarios where you’ll need to update events and projects after the initial update, including:

  • Events and projects on volumes that weren’t connected during the initial update, or events and projects in SAN locations

  • Events and projects that were not stored on the root level of the connected volumes

  • Projects, events, or sets of events that were offline when using Intelligent Assistance’s Event Manager X application

  • All projects and events, if you clicked Update Later when first presented with update options

You can update these projects and events at any time.

  1. If necessary, connect the volumes that contain the projects and events you want to update, and then open Final Cut Pro.

  2. Choose File > Update Projects and Events.

  3. When the update window appears, click one of the update options described in “Select options for updating projects and events,” above.

You can rename libraries and drag events between libraries. You can also create new libraries from a collection of events. For more information, see Create a new library and Copy or move items between libraries and hard disks.

During the update process, Final Cut Pro does not automatically copy your media across volumes (in order to avoid unnecessary copies). Therefore consolidating the source media files for each library at a logical location on your hard disks or network is a great starting point after updating. For more information, see Consolidate projects, events, and libraries.