Rate clips as Favorite or Rejected

If your clips contain sections that you don’t like or that you might never want to use in a project—because they’re blurry, for example—you can mark them as Rejected. You can easily rate the clips you like and the clips you don’t like as you review them. When you’re ready to make a project or play your clip for your client, you can focus on your best footage by choosing to display only those clips you marked as Favorite. You can also delete your rejected clips’ source media files to free up space on your hard disk.

Green favorite lines and red rejected lines shown at top of clips in Browser

Rate clips

  1. In the Browser, select a range, a clip, or multiple clips you want to rate.

  2. Do one of the following:

    • If you like the selection: Press the F key or click the Favorite button in the toolbar.

      Favorite button in toolbar

      In the Browser, a green line appears at the top of frames you’ve marked as Favorite.

      Green favorite lines shown at top of clips in Browser
    • If you don’t like the selection: Press the Delete key or click the Reject button in the toolbar.

      Reject button in toolbar

      A red line appears at the top of frames you’ve marked as Rejected.

      Red rejected lines shown at top of clips in Browser

      Note: If you chose Hide Rejected from the Filter pop-up menu at the top of the Browser, clips marked as Rejected disappear from view.

Remove ratings from clips

  1. Make sure the clips you want to work with appear in the Browser.

    You might need to choose a new option, such as All Clips, from the Filter pop-up menu at the top-left corner of the Browser so that all the clips you need to access are visible.

    Filter pop-up menu
  2. In the Browser, select the clips whose rating you want to remove, and press the U key or click the Clear Rating button in the toolbar.

    Clear Rating button in toolbar

    The green or red line at the top of the clips disappears.

    Clips in Browser shown with ratings removed

    Note: An orange line along the bottom of an event clip indicates the clip is being used in the current project (open in the Timeline). To turn this view on or off, choose View > Show Used Media Ranges.