Change preference settings

A preference modifies how a particular Final Cut Pro feature behaves. Most preference settings can be turned on or off at any time. The following sections describe Final Cut Pro preferences in detail.

Open Final Cut Pro preferences

  • Choose Final Cut Pro > Preferences (or press Command-Comma), and click a pane’s button at the top of the window to open it.

Copy Final Cut Pro preferences between computers

You can copy Final Cut Pro preference settings to another Mac that has Final Cut Pro installed so that the settings are the same on both computers.

  1. Find the preference settings file in the following location:

    /Users/username/Library/Preferences/com.apple.FinalCut.plist

  2. Copy the preference settings file to the same location on another Mac.

    If necessary, overwrite any existing version of the file at that location.

Reset Final Cut Pro preferences

You can reset Final Cut Pro preferences to their original settings.

  • Press Option-Command while opening Final Cut Pro.