Create and modify share destinations

In the Destinations pane of the Final Cut Pro Preferences window, you can modify existing destinations, add new destinations, delete destinations, and create destination bundles, which allow you to export multiple types of output at once. You can also revert to the default set of destinations that were available when you first opened Final Cut Pro.

Destinations pane of Preferences window

For information about sharing projects and clips from Final Cut Pro, see Sharing projects overview.

Create a new destination

  1. Do one of the following:

    • Choose File > Share > Add Destination.

    • Choose Final Cut Pro > Preferences, click the Destinations button at the top of the window, and, if necessary, select Add Destination in the Destinations list on the left.

    • Select a clip or project, click the Share button in the toolbar, and choose Add Destination from the pop-up menu.

  2. In the Destinations pane of the Preferences window, do one of the following:

    • Drag a destination from the area on the right to the Destinations list on the left (or double-click a destination on the right).

      Destinations pane of Preferences window showing Add Destination selected
    • Control-click a destination in the Destinations list and choose Duplicate from the shortcut menu.

    The new destination appears selected in the list on the left, and the settings for the destination appear on the right.

  3. Choose the settings you want for the new destination.

    Destinations pane of Preferences window showing duplicated DVD destination selected

    For descriptions of the controls in each destination, see Destinations preferences.

    Here are some tips for setting up various types of destinations:

    • If you chose a web destination: Enter your user name and password in the window that appears, and click OK. Depending on the destination you’re setting up, you may need to verify your account or your device. To do so, follow the onscreen instructions.

      In some cases, you can select a “Remember this password in my keychain” checkbox, so that you don’t have to enter your user name and password every time you share to the destination.

    • If you chose the Compressor Settings destination: Select a Compressor setting in the window that appears, and click OK. The settings that are displayed include the Compressor settings that come with Final Cut Pro as well as any settings you added.

      Important: You can use the Compressor Settings destination only if you have Compressor installed or someone gives you a Compressor setting.

You can adjust the destination at any time. For example, you can type a new name or use the controls on the right to change the destination settings. As you customize the destination, your changes are saved automatically.

Modify existing destinations

Note: You can also modify an existing destination’s settings while you’re sharing a project or clip. For more information, see Share projects, clips, and ranges.

  1. Choose Final Cut Pro > Preferences, and click Destinations.

    The Destinations pane appears, with a list of destinations on the left.

  2. Do any of the following:

    • To change a destination’s settings: Select a destination, and modify the destination’s settings on the right.

      Destinations pane of Preferences window showing DVD destination selected
    • To use a different web account: Select a web destination and click the Details button to the right of the account name. In the window that appears, enter a new account name and password, and click OK. Follow the onscreen instructions to verify your identity and enable your device, and click Done.

      To have multiple accounts available for the same web destination, create additional instances of the web destination, enter the other account name and password, and click OK.

      Window showing account name and password fields, and OK button
    • To restore a destination to its original settings: Control-click a destination in the Destinations list and choose Revert to Original Settings from the shortcut menu.

      The destination’s settings are restored to their original values and the settings are saved automatically.

    • To rename a destination: Double-click a destination in the list on the left and type a new name.

    • To change the order of destinations in the list: Drag a destination to a different location in the Destinations list.

    For descriptions of the controls in each destination, see Destinations preferences.

As you modify destinations, your changes are saved automatically.

Create a bundle of destinations

Bundles make it easy to create several types of output in a single step. A bundle holds a set of destinations. When you share a project or clip using the bundle, a file for each destination in the bundle is output automatically.

  1. In the Destinations pane of the Preferences window, select Add Destination in the Destinations list and then double-click the Bundle destination (or drag it from the area on the right to the Destinations list on the left).

    An empty bundle appears in the Destinations list.

  2. To add destinations to the bundle, drag existing destinations into it from the Destinations list, or select Add Destination and drag destinations from the area on the right into the bundle.

Tip: To quickly make a bundle from destinations in the Destinations list, select one or more destinations in the Destinations list, Control-click in the Destinations list, and choose New Bundle from Selection from the shortcut menu.

Delete a destination

Do one of the following:

  • Control-click a destination in the Destinations list, and choose Delete from the shortcut menu.

  • Select a destination in the Destinations list, and press Delete.

  • Select a destination in the Destinations list, and click the Remove (–) button below the list.

Assign a default destination

After you set the default destination, you can quickly share to that destination by pressing Command-E. If a clip in the Browser is selected, that clip will be shared; if the Timeline is active, the project will be shared. By default, this shortcut is assigned to the Master File destination. You can change this so that keyboard shortcut will share to any destination (or destination bundle) of your choice.

  • Control-click the destination or bundle you want to make the default, and choose Make Default from the shortcut menu.

The name of the new default destination is appended with “(default).”

Revert to the default set of destinations that came with Final Cut Pro

  • Control-click in the Destinations list and choose Restore Default Destinations from the shortcut menu.

Any custom destinations are deleted, and the default set of destinations appears. For a list of the default destinations, see Sharing projects overview.

Share destinations between Final Cut Pro users

  • To export destinations from your copy of Final Cut Pro: Drag one or more destinations from the Destinations list in the Destinations pane of Final Cut Pro preferences to a location in the Finder.

    The destination file is appended with the .fcpxdest extension.

  • To import destinations into your copy of Final Cut Pro: Drag a destination file from a location in the Finder to the Destinations list.

    The destination you added appears in the Destinations list, the Share submenu of the File menu, and the pop-up menu that appears when you click the Share button in the toolbar.