Share projects, clips, and ranges

You can share an entire project, an entire clip, or a portion of a project or clip (indicated with a range selection). You share using one of the built-in destinations provided with Final Cut Pro, or using a custom destination that you create in the Destinations pane of Final Cut Pro preferences. For more information, see Destinations preferences.

You can also share a project’s roles, exporting each role as a separate media stem. If you want to export the same roles from another project or clip later, you can save your settings as a preset.

Because the transcoding required to create the shared file happens in the background, you can continue working on your projects in Final Cut Pro after sharing. (Keep in mind that changes you make to a project after the transcoding process begins are not reflected in the output files.)

For information about output formats, see Supported export formats.

Share a project, clip, or range

  1. Do one of the following:

    • Select a project or a clip in the Browser.

    • Select a range in a project in the Timeline or in a clip in the Browser.

      Note: To share just a portion of a project, you must make a range selection. A clip selection is not sufficient. For example, you can use the I and O keys to set the range start and end points.

  2. If you’re sharing a project that is set to use proxy media for playback, open it in the Timeline and choose Optimized/Original from the Viewer Options pop-up menu in the upper-right corner of the Viewer.

    This ensures the highest quality in the exported file. When you choose this setting, Final Cut Pro uses optimized media to create the shared file. If optimized media doesn’t exist, the original media is used.

  3. Do one of the following:

    • Choose File > Share, and choose a destination from the submenu.

    • Click the Share button in the toolbar, and choose a destination.

      Destinations in Share pop-up menu

      Important: If the destination that you want to use doesn’t appear in the menu, you need to manually add it to your set of destinations. See Destinations preferences.

  4. In the Share window that appears, do any of the following:

    Info pane of Share window
    • Move the pointer over the image to skim the video.

    • In the Info pane on the right, view and modify project or clip attributes, such as the title and description.

      For more information, see Modify share attributes. All of the attributes associated with the project or clip are included in the output file.

      Important: By default, the title field lists the project or clip name. Changing the title does not change the project or clip name, which is the name used for the exported file.

    • At the bottom of the window, view information about the file that will be exported, including frame size and frame rate, audio channels and sample rate, duration, output file type, and file size.

      For some destinations, you can also view a list of devices that will play the exported file. To view the compatible devices, move the pointer over the Compatibility icon in the lower-right corner.

      Compatible device list
  5. To view the destination’s settings, click Settings.

    The settings for the destination are displayed in the Settings pane. If necessary, modify the destination’s settings.

    Note: If you change the destination’s settings, the changes are saved as the default settings for the destination. For more information, see Destinations preferences.

  6. Click Share or Next.

    The button you see changes depending on the destination you chose. If you click Next, follow the instructions to complete the sharing process.

You can monitor the progress of the transcode in the Background Tasks window, and you can continue to work in Final Cut Pro while the file is transcoded.

When transcoding is complete, a notification appears. You can view and locate shared projects in the Share inspector. For more information, see View the status of shared projects.

Note: If you added chapter markers to your project, chapter marker thumbnails are placed at the appropriate location when sharing to disc (DVD and Blu-ray disc) and MV4, QuickTime, and MP4 formats (for playback using iTunes, QuickTime Player, and Apple devices). For more information, see Manage chapter markers and their thumbnail images.