Share roles as files

You can share a project’s roles, exporting each role as a separate media stem. If you want to export the same roles from another project or clip later, you can save your settings as a preset.

Share roles as separate files

You can export one or more of a project’s or clip’s roles as media stems. For example, you can export a project’s dialogue, music, and sound effects as separate media files by assigning roles to the dialogue, music, and sound effects, and then exporting the roles. You can export roles as a combined, multitrack QuickTime file or as separate audio or video files, and you can assign mono, stereo, or surround output for your audio channels. For more information, see Roles overview.

  1. Do one of the following:

    • Select a project or a clip in the Browser.

    • Select a range in a project in the Timeline or in a clip in the Browser.

  2. Choose File > Share > Master File (or click the Share button in the toolbar and choose Master File).

    Note: You can also choose another destination you created based on the Master File or Export File destination.

  3. Click the Settings button, and then specify the following settings (available settings depend on your source media):

    • Format: Choose a mastering format (Video and Audio, Video Only, or Audio Only).

    • Video codec: The source codec is listed by default. Depending on your source media, you can choose another codec.

    • Resolution: The resolution (based on the source footage) is provided. Depending on your source media, you can choose another resolution.

    • Audio file format: The source format is listed by default. Depending on your source media, you can choose another audio format.

    • Include chapter markers: Select the checkbox to include chapter markers with the exported file (or files).

    • Open with: Choose what you want to happen after the export is complete.

  4. In the “Roles as” pop-up menu, choose how you want the roles exported.

    Note: The options available in this pop-up menu change based on your choices in the Format and “Audio file format” pop-up menus.

    • QuickTime Movie: Exports all of the roles in the project as a single QuickTime movie.

      If you choose this option, skip step 5.

    • Multitrack QuickTime Movie: Exports the roles you specify as a single QuickTime movie.

    • Separate Files: Exports each of the video and audio roles you specify as a separate file.

    • Video Only as Separate Files: Exports each of the video roles you specify as a separate file.

    • Audio Only as Separate Files: Exports each of the audio roles you specify as a separate file.

  5. If you want to add or remove roles, do any of the following:

    • To add a role to the export files: Click the Add Video File or the Add Audio File button, and choose a role from the pop-up menu that appears.

      If you’re adding an audio role, you can also choose the channel format for the role (Mono, Stereo, or Surround). For more information, see Configure audio channels.

    • To remove a role from the export files: Move the pointer over the role you want to remove, and click the Remove (–) button that appears to the right of the pop-up menu.

    Settings pane of Share window
  6. Click Next, enter file information in the window that appears, and click Save.

You can monitor the progress of the transcode in the Background Tasks window, and you can continue to work in Final Cut Pro while the file is transcoded.

When transcoding is complete, a notification appears. You can view and locate shared projects in the Share inspector. For more information, see View the status of shared projects.

Create and modify custom presets

If you’ve created a customized list of roles to share, you can save it as a preset.

  1. Configure your share options using the instructions in “Share roles as separate files,” above.

  2. In the “Roles as” pop-up menu, do any of the following:

    • To save a new preset: Choose Save As, type a name for the preset, and click Save.

    • To save changes to an existing preset: Select the preset and make your changes, and then choose Save.

    • To save a modified preset as a new preset: Select the preset and make your changes, and then choose Save As, type a name for the preset, and click Save.

    • To rename a preset: Select the preset, choose Rename, type a new name for the preset, and click Save.

Custom presets that you create appear in the “Roles as” pop-up menu.

Custom presets are stored in /Users/username/Library/Application Support/ProApps/Export Presets/. To access them quickly, choose Reveal User Presets in Finder from the “Roles as” pop-up menu.

Delete custom presets

You can delete custom presets that you no longer need.

  1. Select a project or clip, and then click the Share button in the toolbar and choose Master File.

  2. In the Share window, click the Settings button, and in the “Roles as” pop-up menu, choose the custom preset that you want to delete.

    The custom presets are listed in the pop-up menu.

    After you choose a preset, a checkmark appears next to its name.

  3. In the “Roles as” pop-up menu, choose Delete.